What is a Retina Specialist?
Ophthalmology, like other medical practices, includes numerous sub-specialties. Some ophthalmologists specialize in the removal of cataracts; others may perform laser surgery to correct near or far sightedness.

A Retina Specialist is a Medical Doctor who has completed accredited residency training in Ophthalmology and who has then completed additional sub-specialty training in the diagnosis and management of diseases of the retina, the vitreous, and the macula.

What training does a Retina Specialist receive?
A Retina Specialist’s training includes:

• Medical School – 4 years
• Internship – 1 year
• Ophthalmology Residency – 3 to 4 years
• Retinal Vitreous Fellowship – 1 to 2 years

What surgeries do you perform?
Some of the surgeries we perform are:

• Injections of medications for the treatment of age-related macular degeneration (also knows as macular degeneration or ARMD), retinal manifestations of diabetes, retinal vein occlusions and other diseases
• Laser treatments for age-related macular degeneration (also knows as ARMD), retinal manifestations of diabetes, retinal vein occlusions, and retinal tears, holes and thinning
• Photodynamic therapy for age-related macular degeneration and other conditions
• Retinal detachment surgery (various types)
• Vitrectomy for hemorrhages
• Vitrectomy for macular puckers
• Vitrectomy for macular holes

Where can I find information about various eye diseases and conditions?
For additional information, please see our Resources Page, which will link you directly to the American Society of Retina Specialists’ website, which provides an extensive library of topics including retina diseases, research, education programs, publications, and other resources.